Council Elections

Parish Council elections were held on 5 May 2016 for all nine seats on the Council. Prior to the election, Mike Mackenzie retired as PC Chairman in March (after 14 years in office) and was succeeded by Chris Woodley.

The remaining Councillors (Tony de Guingand, Mrs Niccy Marriott, Ian McEwen, Mrs Georgie Warner and Chris Woodley) stood for re-election. Seven other candidates put their names forward. The existing Councillors were all re-elected and were joined on the new Council by Duncan Batty, Mrs Lynne Butler, Jon Grant and Robin Wickham. The new Council will serve a four year term until May 2020.

In February 2017, Ian McEwen resigned from the Council. Martin Powell also resigned as Clerk was replaced, in May 2017, by Ms Chantal Brooks. At the Annual Parish Council Meeting on 8 May 2017,  Kevin Sparkhall was co-opted as a new Councillor to fill the vacancy.

In March 2018, Mrs Niccy Marriott stood down from the Council. At the Annual Parish Council Meeting on 7 May 2019, Chris Woodley was re-elected as Council Chairman and Robin Wickham was re-elected as Vice-Chairman. At its meeting on 1 October 2018, the Council co-opted Mr Graeme Stevenson as a Parish Councillor.

The next elections will be on 7 May 2020.

Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Disclosable Pecuniary Interests are interests that directly affect the financial position of Councillors or their spouse/partner. Such an interest exists if Council business could affect the employment, employers, businesses, contracts, shares, land or property (owned or rented) of a Councillor or his/her spouse/partner. All such interests must be declared and are then published.

The Disclosable Pecuniary Interests of Brenchley and Matfield Parish Councillors are maintained by Tunbridge Wells Borough Council and can be viewed on the relevant TWBC webpage here.

Councillor Responsibilities

The current responsibilities of individual Councillors are shown below. Where Councillors have provided additional information please select their name to view.

Councillor Responsibilities
Christopher Woodley Parish Council Chairman; Finance Chair; Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group Chair; Policy and Management Group
Robin Wickham Council Vice-Chairman; Finance Committee; Policy and Management Committee; Traffic and Road Safety Initiative; Tree Warden; Pond Warden
Duncan Batty Finance Committee
Mrs Lynne Butler Policy Group and Management Committee; Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group
Tony de Guingand Finance Committee; Policy and Management Committee; Teise Catchment Improvement Group
Jon Grant Brenchley Memorial Hall; Rights of Way & Countryside Issues
Kevin Sparkhall Policy and Management Committee; Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group; Scout Hut; Allotments
Graeme Stevenson Policy and Management Committee; Assets
Mrs Georgie Warner Planning Committee; Police

Brenchley and Matfield Parish Council Committees and responsibilities 2019-20


*The Policy and Management Sub-Committee consists of Cllrs Woodley (Chair), Wickham, de Guingand, Sparkhall, Stevenson, Mrs Butler
* The Finance Sub-Committee consists of Cllrs Woodley (Chair), Wickham, de Guingand and Batty.
* The Planning Sub-Committee consists of Cllr Mrs Warner, plus two other Councillors (on a rotational basis).
* Mrs Niccy Marriott, as a non-Councillor, represents the Council on the Matfield Village Hall Committee.

Parish Clerk

The Clerk to the Council is Ms Chantal Brooks whose contact details are as follows:

Matfield Pavilion
The Green
TN12 7JU
Telephone: 01892 723586